# PHL’s top teachers bared, to get P500k each | DEPED TAMBAYAN PH DEPED TAMBAYAN


Ten teachers and professors from the grade school, high school and higher education levels received P500,000 each as the country's top educators in Metrobank Foundation Inc.'s Search for Outstanding Teachers in 2015.

This year's awardees include four elementary school teachers, four secondary school teachers and two college professors specializing in various fields from across the country. They join the ranks of 336 teachers that the MBFI has honored since 1985.

The Elementary competition winners are:  Rejie F. Palmos of West Visayas State University (La Paz, Iloilo City); Benjamin M. Castro of Francisco Benitez Elementary School (Tondo, Manila); Amcy M. Esteban of Legarda Elementary School (Sampaloc, Manila); and Irene G. Dela Cruz of Carmona Elementary School (Carmona, Cavite).

The Secondary competition winners are:  Ronaldo C. Reyes of Tabaco National High School (Tabaco City, Albay); Dr. Myrna B. Libutaque of Philippine Science High School- Western Visayas Campus (Jaro, Iloilo City); Milagros C. Banan of Ernesto Rondon High School (Project 6, Quezon City); and Ernani S. Fernandez Jr. of Palo National High School (Palo, Leyte).
Dr. Thomas Edison E. Dela Cruz of the University of Santo Tomas and Dr. Analyn V. Salvador-Amores of University of the Philippines-Baguio are the winners for the Higher Education competition.

“Once again, the Foundation continues its tradition of honoring modern day heroes who serve as instruments of nation-building. Other than recognizing effective classroom instruction, the Search has always emphasized the role of teachers outside the four corners of the classroom," MBFI president Aniceto Sobrepeña said in a statement.

"Thus, we  give value on their various involvements in their respective communities for it to become a better place to live in. We are honored to bring to the fore the exceptional stories of hardwork and dedication among this year’s Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Teachers," he added.

A total of 467 teachers were nominated to this year’s Search. They were trimmed down to 110 provincial finalists through documents review then shortlisted to 40 regional finalists who underwent interviews and teaching demonstrations before the preliminary board of judges of each category.
Twenty of the regional finalists were then selected to become the national finalists.
The national finalists faced the 2015 Final Board of Judges chaired by Deputy Speaker and Antipolo Rep. Roberto V. Puno and co-chaired by Securities and Exchange Commission Chairperson Teresita J. Herbosa.

Other judges include Taguig City Mayor Ma. Laarni L. Cayetano, Far Eastern University President Dr. Michael M. Alba, Don Bosco Technical College Rector Fr. Vitaliano “Chito” S. Dimaranan, SDB, Philippine Stock Exchange President and Chief Executive Officer Hans B. Sicat, and Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas Chairman Ruperto S. Nicdao Jr.    

This year’s SOT awardees will be conferred with gold medallions and cash prize of Php 500,000 each. They will also receive a trophy and a plaque of recognition for their school.
They will be presented together with the 2015 awardees of the COPS (Country’s Outstanding Police Officers in Service) and TOPS (The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers), dubbed as Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos,  in a formal awarding on September 3, 2015 as one of the highlights of Metrobank’s 53rd anniversary celebration.

MBFI's SOT honors the teaching profession, acknowledging those who exhibit competence, remarkable dedication to their work, and effective educational leadership, as well as their various community involvements.

It is implemented by the MBFI in partnership with the Department of Education (DepEd) and the Commission on Higher Education (CHEd).

In 2010, the Search was awarded the Grand Anvil, the highest recognition during the 45th Anvil Awards given by the Public Relations Society of the Philippines (PRSP).

Over the years, the SOT has become a sought-after award among educators as it earned the prestige of becoming a benchmark of excellence in the teaching profession. -NB, GMA News


Post a Comment